UCDSU 2020 Election Results: Radicals take centre stage

Image Credit: ucdsu.ie

2020 Student Union Election results in full

The UCDSU election results were announced this evening, May 1st, after the first ever online only vote. The online vote included voting for full time sabbatical roles as well as volunteer college officer positions and the Irish Language Officer.
For the sabbatical elections, just two races were contested, Education and Welfare. Sarah Michalek was elected unopposed on the first count for the role of Entertainments Officer. Leighton Gray was also elected as Campaigns and Engagement Officer. Hannah Bryson beat Darryl Horan by 50 votes to be elected Education Officer. Ruairí Power beat Rebecca O’Connor by 164 votes to be elected Welfare officer. Conor Anderson was elected unopposed for the role of President. 

In the college officer races, Liam Coyle was elected college officer for the School of Business, as the sole candidate. Marta Geszczak was elected college officer for Health Sciences, again as the sole candidate. For the School of Arts and Humanities, Sophie O’Leary and Lauren Maunsell were elected joint college officers. Corey Power de Jong was elected college officer for Engineering and Architecture. Emily Moore beat out Eoin Fagan for the position of Science college officer, with a vote margin of 50 votes. Míde Nic Fhionnlaoich has been elected the Law Officer beating Thomas Rogers by 27 votes. 

In the Irish Language Officer race, Tadgh Moloney gained 23 more votes than Eoghan Courtney.

Analysis to follow..