UCD Win 8 Awards at the Student Media Awards

THE finest student writers in the country gathered in the Aviva Stadium last week for the annual Oxygen.ie Student Media awards.The event featured many special guest judges and hosts, with the likes of RTE’s Michael Lyster, Eileen Dunne and Will Goodbody picking the winners. Former Republic of Telly host Kevin McGahern acted capably as the event’s MC for the evening.It was a successful evening for the various media outlets in UCD with 37 nominations, more than any other university in the country. UCD students won a total of eight categories.The University Observer staff took home the most with five Smedias. Roisín Guyett-Nicholson and Martin Healy won the second biggest award of the evening; ‘Editors of the Year’. Billy Vaughan won ‘The European Commission Award’, along with a one thousand euro cash prize. Aisling Brennan was awarded the ‘Science Writer of the Year’, with Conall Cahill taking the ‘Sports Writer of the Year’ award for the second consecutive year. The Observer also retained the Smedia for Website of the Year for universityobserver.ie, collected by online editors Ruth Murphy and Eithne Dodd.College Tribune editor Jack Power won the award for ‘Journalist of the Year – National Press’ and The Tribune itself was awarded ‘Newspaper of the Year’. It was the first time that the broadsheet had won the prize.To round off the UCD winners, Belfield FM also had a success with Oisin and Donal Ó Catháin winning the Smedia for ‘Raidió Trí Ghaeilge’.UCC brought five Smedias back to Leeside. Ryan O’Neill and Sarah Ryan of UCC Express were awarded ‘Journalist’ and ‘Colour Writer of the Year’ respectively. Motley Magazine won the ‘Magazine of the Year’ for the fourth year running, with UCC FM also winning the ‘Radio Production of the Year: News & Current Affairs’ for The Midday Express.Hannah Kingston won ‘Short Story of the Year’ for the second year running, only this time for DCU, having won the award twelve months ago for UCC. Stephen Murphy was ‘Radio Journalist of the Year’ with Aaron Gallahger’s Football Writer winning ‘Blog of the Year’.The main design awards both went to Trinity College for Trinity News and TN2. The ‘RSA award for Journalism relating to Road Safety’ was won by Cailean Coffee of UCC. Queens and IADT both won a single Smedia. A full list can be found on oxygen.ie